top of page
  • Writer's pictureDAWG NEWS DAILY

David Pollack nominated for CFB HOF

Updated: Jul 3, 2018

-Story via UGA Sports Communications-

ATHENS -- Former University of Georgia football All-American David Pollack is among the 76 players named to the 2019 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision ballot announced this week.

"It's an enormous honor to just be on the ballot when you think that more than 5.26 million people have played college football and only 997 players have been inducted," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "The Hall's requirement of being a First-Team All-American creates a much smaller pool of about 1,500 individuals who are even eligible. Being in today's elite group means an individual is truly among the greatest to have ever played the game, and those actually elected to the Class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football in 2019." 

The announcement of the 2019 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, Calif.  Former Bulldog All American Matt Stinchcomb was elected to this year's class and will be inducted in December at the College Hall of Fame annual ceremonies in New York.

After electing to bypass the NFL and return to UGA for his senior season in 2004, Pollack joined legendary tailback Herschel Walker (1980-82) as the only two Georgia players to be chosen first team All-America three times (2002-03-04).  Along the way he shattered the school record for quarterback sacks with 36 breaking the old mark of 29 by Richard Tardits which had stood for 16 years.  

From 2001-04, Pollack became one of the school's most decorated players in history.  In addition to his three-time All-America selection, he won some of the most prestigious awards in college football including the 2004 Rotary Lombardi Award (nation's outstanding lineman), 2004 Chuck Bednarik Award (nation's outstanding defensive player), 2004 Ronnie Lott Trophy (defensive IMPACT Player of the Year), and the 2003 and 2004 Ted Hendricks Award (nation's outstanding defensive end).  He was also a finalist for the 2002 and 2004 Bronko Nagurski Award.

Pollack was named the SEC's Defensive Player of the Year in both 2002 and 2004 by the Associated Press and the SEC Coaches. He was the Associated Press Player of the Year in '02.  Pollack was a consensus All-SEC performer three consecutive years (2002-03-04) and was named the league's Defensive Player of the Week six times during his career.   His 14 sacks in 2002 set a Georgia single season record.  During his career he also started 45 consecutive games and was named the MVP of the 2005 Outback Bowl after recording three QB sacks, three tackles-for-loss, one forced fumble, one recovered fumble, and one deflected pass.  He was named to the Sports Illustrated and "All-Bowl Team."

He was part of senior class that led Georgia to a four-year record of 42-10 which ranks sixth best in the country, top six final rankings in 2002 (3rd), 2003 (6th) and 2004 (6th),  two SEC Eastern Division championships in 2002 and 2003 and the SEC title in '02.  Pollack's teams also played in four bowl games.  He was selected in the first round by the Cincinnati Bengals in the 2005 NFL draft but his career ended two years later by a neck injury.  Since his playing days, Pollack has become one of the hosts of the ESPN signature college football show, College Gameday.

bottom of page